Mobile Money to remain As NRM MPs vote in its favour

Members of Parliament in Uganda  yesterday  voted on the much anticipated 0.5% mobile money tax this is after last week's voting flopped.

The tax proposed was  presented in the Excise Durt Amendment Bill (2018) No.2 that sought to reduce the current 1% levy on all mobile money transactions to at least 0.5%.

Just as the Budget had been passed mid this year, there was introduction of 1% on mobile money but this attracted criticism from the public and the President directed that it should be lowered to 0.5% thus the voting today.

The President who is the chairperson of NRM  first met the NRM Caucus to have one voice before they go for the vote but a number of parliamentarians both in ruling party and opposition are opposed to the tax all together.

Yesterday  afternoon saw MPs vote on the amendment of the mobile money tax. Out of 288 MPs in house, only 124 voted in favour.

For those  who come from western Uganda, only 4 of NRM MPs voted yes to removal. Namely; Mwine Mpaka, Winfred Niwagaba, Kahonda _Dononzio and onesmus twinamatsiko.

The likes of Gerald karuhanga, Tumuzigu Michael, Chris Baryomunsi, Raphael Magezi, Arinaitwe Rwakajara, Gordon cowboy were absent at the time of voting.

For God and my country.


Post a Comment